Alisa Arsenault

The Work : À Cheval
The Subject : Yvon Gallant and Nancy Morin

Yvon Gallant and Nancy Morin

The artists Yvon Gallant and Nancy Morin met while attending university in the Visual Arts Department of the Université de Moncton, each graduating in 1976. Nearly ten years later, they shared a studio at the Aberdeen Cultural Centre, where their great friendship grew, resulting in several artistic collaborations. Although the work of each is easily recognizable, it is also possible to perceive how they reciprocally influenced each other’s work

For nearly twenty years, these artists and their work co-existed, impacting Moncton’s arts community while nurturing an atmosphere of sharing and contributing to the dynamism of the community. Through their work as managers of the Galerie Sans Nom in particular, these two artists established a spirit of conviviality, openness, and accessibility that carried over into their shared studio.

Yvon Gallant and Nancy Morin in their shared studio at Aberdeen Cultural Centre (around 1994). Photo : GALRC archives

À cheval

Alisa Arsenault’s project reflects on and interprets the great friendship between the artists Yvon Gallant and Nancy Morin, the influence of this friendship on them individually and on their artistic practices, their exceptional symbiosis, and their shared connection to the city of Moncton. Using excerpts of texts from sources such as the archives of each artist, Arsenault traces the artists’ everyday route from Robinson Court to the Aberdeen Cultural Centre, thereby creating a symbolic map of the physical and emotional paths they travelled together.

À cheval, 2018, silk-screen prints on lexan panels

The routes are printed on seven Plexiglas panels installed at the Aberdeen Cultural Centre, near the former studio of Gallant and Morin that, in 2018, is notably occupied by Arsenault, among others. Three panels are devoted to each artist individually, with the seventh illustrating the encounter with the myth of each artist, the meeting of the inner world and the external world, and the fulfillment that resulted.

This concept of rapture is borrowed from the work of the philosopher Joseph Campbell: it describes the quest for a sensation of ecstasy or fullness made possible when equilibrium is achieved between the inner world (Morin) and the outer world (Gallant). The harmonious equilibrium between the two worlds in this seventh panel comes to symbolize the symbiosis between the two artists.

À cheval (detail), 2018, silk-screen prints on lexan panels

Part of the work has been integrated into the city’s downtown—the central panel that shows the encounter between the two artists’ universes. The itinerary is engraved on a stone in Robinson Court that bears the inscription “ROBINSON,” marking the importance of this place for these two individuals during these influential and memorable years of their friendship.

The artist would like to thank Mathieu Leblanc, Angèle Cormier, Jennifer Bélanger and Guy Arsenault for their contributions to the project.

[...] thereby creating a symbolic map of the physical and emotional paths they travelled together.

Alisa Arsenault

Trained in printmaking, Alisa Arsenault has added installation, video projection, and sound art to her practice. Images and words from her family archives evoke fragments of memories she uses to reflect on her personal history through the use of fictionalized documents. With humour and melancholy, she borrows from other people’s archives, appropriating these documents to permeate them with her own folklore. So, while her work is mostly autobiographical, it is presented as a fragmented and stitched-up narrative. In it we find her lived experiences, exaggerations, and inventions. Questioning memory, its capacity to express truth, and its unconscious distortions are at the heart of her work.

Alisa Arsenault earned a Bachelor of Visual Arts degree from the Université de Moncton in 2013 and currently works in Moncton. Over the past several years, her work has been included in several group exhibitions in the Maritime provinces, in addition to solo exhibitions and artist residencies in New Brunswick and Quebec.

Alisa Arsenault

l'oeuvre : À Cheval
Le sujet : Yvon Gallant et Nancy Morin

Yvon Gallant et Nancy Morin

Les artistes Yvon Gallant et Nancy Morin se sont rencontrés lors de leur parcours universitaire au sein du Département des arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton et ont obtenu tous les deux leur diplôme en 1976. Près d’une décennie plus tard, ils partageaient un atelier au Centre culturel Aberdeen, où leur grande amitié s’est consolidée, et plusieurs collaborations artistiques en ont résulté. Bien que l’on reconnaisse facilement la démarche de chacun.e, on peut également percevoir des influences réciproques entre le travail de l’un.e et de l’autre.

Pendant près de 20 ans, ces artistes et leurs créations ont cohabité et ont marqué le milieu artistique monctonien, tout en semant une ambiance de partage et en contribuant au dynamisme de la communauté. Ces deux artistes, notamment par leur contribution comme gestionnaires de la Galerie Sans Nom, ont établi un esprit de convivialité, d’ouverture et d’accessibilité qui s’est poursuivi au sein de leur atelier commun.

Yvon Gallant et Nancy Morin dans leur atelier au Centre culturel Aberdeen (vers 1994). Photo : Centre de documentation de la GALRC

À cheval

L’œuvre d’Alisa Arsenault reflète et interprète la grande amitié entre les artistes Yvon Gallant et Nancy Morin; l’influence de cette amitié sur leur propre personne et sur leurs pratiques artistiques; leur complémentarité exceptionnelle, et leur relation mutuelle avec la Ville de Moncton. À partir d’extraits de textes provenant entre autres des archives de chacun.e, Arsenault trace le trajet quotidien des artistes entre la cour Robinson et le Centre culturel Aberdeen. Elle élabore ainsi une carte symbolique de leurs itinéraires physiques et affectifs parcourus ensemble.

À cheval, 2018, impressions sérigraphiques sur panneaux de lexan

Ces trajets sont imprimés sur sept panneaux de plexiglas installés au Centre culturel Aberdeen, près de l’atelier jadis occupé par Gallant et Morin et aujourd’hui (2018) occupé, notamment, par Arsenault. Trois panneaux sont dédiés à chacun.e des artistes et un septième illustre la rencontre du mythe de chacun.e, la rencontre d’un monde intérieur et d’un monde extérieur, ainsi que l’épanouissement qui en résulte.

Cette notion de ravissement est empruntée à la pensée du philosophe Joseph Campbell : elle désigne la quête d’une sensation d’extase ou de plénitude rendue possible lorsque l’équilibre est atteint entre le monde intérieur (Morin) et extérieur (Gallant). L’équilibre harmonieux entre les deux mondes dans ce septième panneau symbolise ici la relation de symbiose entre les deux artistes.

À cheval (détail), 2018, impressions sérigraphiques sur panneaux de lexan

Par ailleurs, une composante de l’œuvre est intégrée dans le centre-ville et reprend le panneau central, soit la rencontre entre les univers des deux artistes. Le parcours textuel est gravé sur une pierre qui orne la cour Robinson et qui porte l’inscription « ROBINSON ». Cette entaille rappelle l’importance de ce lieu pour les deux individus durant les années influentes et mémorables de leur amitié.

L’artiste tient à remercier Mathieu Leblanc, Angèle Cormier, Jennifer Bélanger et Guy Arsenault pour leurs contributions au projet.

Elle élabore ainsi une carte symbolique de leurs itinéraires physiques et affectifs parcourus ensemble.

Alisa Arsenault

Formée en estampe, Alisa Arsenault allie l’impression à l’installation, aux projections vidéo et à l’art sonore. Des bribes de souvenirs évoqués à partir d’images et de mots puisés dans ses archives familiales rendent compte de son histoire personnelle, à la manière de postiches. C’est avec humour et mélancolie qu’elle emprunte également les archives des autres pour se les approprier et les imprégner de son propre folklore. Ses œuvres sont ainsi pour la plupart autobiographiques, mais présentées en une narration fragmentée et recousue. On y retrouve des faits vécus, des exagérations et des inventions. L’interrogation de la mémoire, de sa capacité de véracité ou de ses distorsions inconscientes est au cœur de ses recherches.

Alisa Arsenault détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton (2013) et travaille actuellement à Moncton. Depuis quelques années, elle a participé à plusieurs expositions de groupe tenues dans les provinces maritimes, en plus d’expositions solos et de résidences de création au Nouveau-Brunswick et au Québec.