Mario Doucette

The Work : Hommage à Guy Duguay
The Subject : Guy Duguay

Guy Duguay

Guy Duguay was born in 1955 and died prematurely at the age of 41 in 1996. He completed his studies in visual art at the Université de Moncton in 1978. Later, he learned filmmaking with Robert Frank and Jean Pierre Lefebvre and sculpture under the tutelage of Henri Murail in France. He had an accomplished career as a visual artist, draughtsperson, and graphic designer.

Duguay was very involved in the Moncton arts community; over the course of his brief career, he was a founding member of the Aberdeen Cultural Centre, chair of Galerie Sans Nom and Atelier d’estampe imago, and member of Galerie 12. He represented New Brunswick at the very first Jeux de la Francophonie held in Morocco in 1989. A multidisciplinary artist, Duguay pushed the conventional boundaries of art with his conceptual and uninhibited artistic practice, which gave rise to controversy on numerous occasions.

Guy Duguay in front of one of hiw works (no date). Photo : GALRC archives

Hommage à Guy Duguay

Staying faithful to his historical approach, Mario Doucette uses a genre from French art history to pay tribute to Guy Duguay. When a renowned artist died in the nineteenth century, it was customary for a colleague to paint their portrait surrounded by other artistic personalities to demonstrate their admiration for the deceased master.

As Henri Fantin-Latour had done in homage to Delacroix in 1864, Doucette has composed a painting focused on one of Guy Duguay’s works, Pink Boys (est mal pas mal), a silk-screened photograph dating from 1996, the year of the artist’s death. Subversive by virtue of its homoerotic subject matter, this piece is representative of Duguay’s contribution, and was recognized at the time for having transgressed the artistic limits of Acadie.

Mario Doucette at work during a preparatory photo shoot for Hommage à Guy Duguay (2018). Photo : Catherine Arseneault

This painting-manifesto, anchored simultaneously in the past and present of Moncton's artistic community, testifies to the strength of the bonds that unite this community.

In 1996 those close to Duguay organized a wake at the Terra Nova Café in the Aberdeen Cultural Centre. Several artists came together over a glass of champagne to celebrate the life of their departed friend. Doucette was also present at this event and has chosen to paint the portrait of some of the guests: Jacques Arseneault, Paul Édouard Bourque, Herménégilde Chiasson, Lionel Cormier, Yvon Gallant, Gérald Leblanc (a deceased poet represented here by Méditations sur le désir, an art book created in collaboration with Guy Duguay in 1996), Gilles LeBlanc, Nancy Morin, Nancy Schofield, and Anne-Marie Sirois. Glasses in hand, these key figures in the development of the Aberdeen Cultural Centre proudly affirm their admiration for Duguay, whose influence is still felt today. This painting-manifesto, anchored simultaneously in the past and present of Moncton's artistic community, testifies to the strength of the bonds that unite this community.

Prepatory sketch for Hommage à Guy Duguay, in the artist's studio (2018)

Mario Doucette

Mario Doucette is a painter who reveals the shortcomings of the historical colonial discourse as told by the victors. Nourished by research on the history of the Acadians, he imagines alternative discourses to the usual stories (such as that of Evangeline, A Tale of Acadie (1847) by the American author Henry W. Longfellow) that have been perpetuated by many artists since. His compositions, inspired by neoclassicism, borrow from the codes of cultural propaganda (from both ancient and modern history) and go back and forth between reality and myth to expose the ideologies that govern the official historical discourse.

A native of Moncton and represented by Division Gallery in Montreal, Doucette was a finalist for the Sobey Art Award in 2008. The work of this self-taught artist has been included in exhibitions such as the Canadian Biennial, Oh, Canada: Contemporary Art from North North America, The Painting Project: A Snapshot of Painting in Canada, and 150 Years | 150 Works: Canadian Art as Historical Act. His work can be found in the collections of the National Gallery of Canada, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, and the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia.

Mario Doucette

l'oeuvre : Hommage à Guy Duguay
Le sujet : Guy Duguay

Guy Duguay

Guy Duguay est né en 1955 et décédé prématurément à l’âge de 41 ans en 1996. Il terminait ses études en arts visuels à l’Université de Moncton en 1978. Par la suite, il s’est perfectionné en cinéma auprès de Robert Frank et de Jean Pierre Lefebvre puis en sculpture sous la tutelle d’Henri Murail en France. Il a mené une carrière accomplie en tant qu’artiste visuel, dessinateur et concepteur graphique.

Duguay a été très engagé dans le milieu artistique de Moncton : au cours de sa brève carrière, il a été membre fondateur du Centre culturel Aberdeen, président de la Galerie Sans Nom et de l’Atelier d’estampe Imago, membre de la Galerie 12 et il a représenté le Nouveau-Brunswick aux tout premiers Jeux de la Francophonie, tenus au Maroc en 1989. Artiste multidisciplinaire, Duguay repoussait les limites conventionnelles de l’art par sa pratique conceptuelle et éclatée, qui a suscité la controverse à de maintes reprises.

Guy Duguay devant une de ses œuvres (sans date). Photo : Centre de documentation de la GALRC

Hommage à Guy Duguay

Fidèle à sa démarche historienne, Mario Doucette reprend un genre de l’histoire de l’art français pour rendre hommage à Guy Duguay. Lorsqu’un artiste reconnu décédait au XIXe siècle, il était coutume qu’un collègue peigne son portrait entouré de personnalités artistiques démontrant leur admiration pour le maître défunt.

Comme l’avait fait l’artiste Henri Fantin-Latour en hommage à Delacroix en 1864, Doucette a composé un tableau centré sur une œuvre de Guy Duguay. Pink Boys (est mal pas mal) est une photographie sérigraphiée datant de 1996, année du décès de l’artiste. Subversive par son sujet homoérotique, cette pièce est représentative de la contribution de Duguay, reconnu à l’époque pour avoir transgressé les limites artistiques en Acadie.

Mario Doucette à l’œuvre lors d’une session photo préparatoire pour Hommage à Guy Duguay (2018). Photo : Catherine Arseneault

Le tableau-manifeste, ancré simultanément dans le passé et le présent du milieu artistique de Moncton, témoigne de la force des liens qui soudent cette communauté.

L’entourage de Duguay avait organisé en 1996 une veillée au Café Terra Nova du Centre culturel Aberdeen. Plusieurs artistes s’y étaient réuni.e.s autour d’un verre de champagne pour célébrer la vie de leur ami défunt. Lui-même présent à ce rassemblement, Doucette a choisi de portraiturer certain.e.s des convives : Jacques Arseneault, Paul Édouard Bourque, Herménégilde Chiasson, Lionel Cormier, Yvon Gallant, Gérald Leblanc (le poète décédé qui figure ici par Méditations sur le désir, un livre d’art réalisé en collaboration avec Guy Duguay en 1996), Gilles LeBlanc, Nancy Morin, Nancy Schofield et Anne-Marie Sirois. Verres à la main, ces figures déterminantes du développement du Centre culturel Aberdeen affirment fièrement leur admiration pour Duguay, dont l’influence se fait toujours sentir aujourd’hui. Ce tableau-manifeste, ancré simultanément dans le passé et le présent du milieu artistique de Moncton, témoigne de la force des liens qui soudent cette communauté.

Dessin préparatoire pour Hommage à Guy Duguay, dans l’atelier de l’artiste (2018)

Mario Doucette

Mario Doucette est un artiste peintre qui révèle les lacunes du discours historique colonialiste véhiculé par les vainqueurs. Nourri de recherches sur l’histoire des Acadien.ne.s, il imagine des discours alternatifs aux récits habituels (tels que celui d’Évangéline (1847) de l’Américain Henry W. Longfellow) perpétués par des artistes depuis. Ses compositions inspirées du néoclassicisme empruntent aux codes de la propagande culturelle (dans l’histoire ancienne et moderne) et oscillent entre la réalité et le mythe pour exposer les idéologies qui régissent le discours historique officiel.

Natif de Moncton et représenté par la Galerie Division (Montréal), Doucette a été finaliste pour le Prix Sobey en 2008. L’artiste autodidacte compte à son actif des expositions telles que la Biennale canadienne, Oh, Canada: Contemporary Art from North North America, Le Projet Peinture : un instantané de la peinture au Canada et 150 ans | 150 œuvres : l’art au Canada comme acte d’histoire. Ses œuvres font partie des collections du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et de l’Art Gallery of Nova Scotia.