Dominik Robichaud

The Work : Birth Labyrinth I (prénatal) / Birth Labyrinth II (postpartum)
The Subject : Parallel Spaces (Maternity)

Parallel Spaces (Maternity)

Some figures in the Moncton arts community saw the need for alternative art exhibition spaces in order to increase what was on offer and to contribute to contemporary art flourishing in Acadie. Several non-subsidized exhibition venues opened their doors over the years thanks to the initiative of determined individuals, who had a great ability for getting things done. These initiatives include Le Clapet in the 1960s, Galerie Explosion (1975-76), Galerie Trunk (1996-99), Moo Moo Morte in the 1990s, and the mini-gallery of Radio-Canada (1973-1993).

Artists in front of Le Clapet (around 1972-1973). Photo : GALRC archives

The works created by Dominik Robichaud for Images rémanentes propose a reinterpretation of parallel spaces for exhibiting visual art. This project examines the past, or rather the neglect of the past: that of giving a place to maternity as a subject discussed and recognized in the visual arts in Acadie, like many other topics specific to women’s reality. At the same time, Robichaud invites us to consider the future by creating a (conceptual) space that enables and encourages women to speak on the topic of maternity. Art is thus presented as a springboard for reflection, highlighting the potential of an interdisciplinary approach.

Birth Labyrinth I (prenatal) / Birth Labyrinth II (postpartum)

Birth Labyrinth I (prenatal) and Birth Labyrinth II (postpartum) form a diptych. The first component is installed at the Centre de formation médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick while the second is installed in the Georges-Dumont Hospital's Obstetric Clinic. These pieces look at maternity and the medical world around it offer, through the visual arts, a new approach to the question. They address members of the public who are directly concerned by the question—first of all, expecting pregnant women, new mothers and their families, along with the medical personnel involved in their care. This project weaves interdisciplinary links between the artworld and that of medicine, inviting us to reconsider the contribution of each to reflections related to maternity.

Birth Labyrinth II (postpartum) (detail), 2018, Embroidery on hospital gown and acrylic painting on wood

These artworks are inspired by Robichaud’s personal experience, something that is typical of her practice. Rooted in autobiography, they cast an analytical look at the sometimes-harrowing reality of maternity and the various ways it is dealt with medically. The two parts of the diptych demonstrate the in-depth research carried out by the artist into the pre-natal (CFMNB) and post-partum (obstetrics clinic) periods respectively.

Birth Labyrinth II (prénatal) (detail), 2018, embroidery on hospital gown and acrylic painting on wood

They incorporate images belonging to the world of modern medicine juxtaposed with symbols deriving from traditional practices (midwives, doulas, etc.). At the center of each work is a hospital gown embroidered with a “birth labyrinth,” an analog representation of a meditative strategy that can accompany pregnancy, childbirth, and welcoming the baby. The elements surrounding the gown evoke various stages of maternity, illustrating the theme of each of the works.

This project weaves interdisciplinary links between the artworld and that of medicine, inviting us to reconsider the contribution of each to reflections related to maternity.

Dominik Robichaud

Dominik Robichaud is primarily a painter. She explores notions of self-representation through material forms of artistic enquiry that combine painting with other mediums such as collage, drawing, ceramics, and installation. Robichaud reflects on memory and its transmission by developing an intimate universe. She highlights the tensions and parallels between dichotomies: well-being and anxiety, silence and turbulence, the masculine and the feminine. The theme of motherhood, a unifying theme of her artistic practice in recent years, is treated from a resolutely autobiographical perspective.

Dominik Robichaud graduated from the Visual Arts Department at the Université de Moncton in 2008. Several solo exhibitions of her work have been shown, including Body Language (Beaverbrook Art Gallery, 2013), The Birds and the Bees (Aberdeen Cultural Centre, 2015), and Relief (Dieppe Arts and Culture Centre, 2017). She also maintains an art therapy practice.

Dominik Robichaud

l'oeuvre : Birth Labyrinth I (prénatal) / Birth Labyrinth II (postpartum)
Le sujet : Les espaces parallèles (maternité)

Les espaces parallèles (maternité)

Certains acteurs et actrices du milieu artistique de Moncton voyaient la nécessité de créer des lieux alternatifs de diffusion des arts afin d’augmenter l’offre et de contribuer au foisonnement de l’art contemporain en Acadie. Plusieurs lieux d’exposition non subventionnés ont ouvert leurs portes au fil des années grâce à l’initiative de personnes déterminées qui ont fait preuve d’une grande débrouillardise. Parmi ces initiatives, on retrouve Le Clapet (années 1960), la Galerie Explosion (1975-1976), la Galerie Trunk (1996-1999), la Moo Moo Morte (années 1990), ainsi que la mini-galerie de Radio-Canada (1973 à 1993).

Des artistes devant Le Clapet (vers 1972-1973). Photo : Centre de documentation de la GALRC

Les œuvres réalisées par Dominik Robichaud pour Images rémanentes proposent une relecture du sujet des espaces parallèles de diffusion des arts visuels. Ce projet pose un regard vers le passé, ou plutôt vers une négligence du passé : celle d’accorder une place à la maternité comme sujet abordé et reconnu dans les arts visuels en Acadie, comme bon nombre de sujets spécifiques aux réalités féminines. En même temps, l’artiste invite à tourner le regard vers l’avenir en créant un espace (conceptuel) qui permet et encourage une prise de parole par les artistes au sujet de la maternité. L’art est ainsi présenté comme un tremplin pour la réflexion, mettant en valeur le potentiel de l’interdisciplinarité.

Birth Labyrinth I (prénatal) / Birth Labyrinth II (postpartum)

Birth Labyrinth (prénatal) et Birth Labyrinth II (postpartum) constituent un dyptique. La première composante est installée au Centre de formation médicale du Nouveau-Brunswick et la deuxième à la clinique d'obstétrique de l'Hôpital Georges-Dumont. Ces œuvres abordent la maternité et l’univers médical qui l’entoure et offrent, par le biais des arts visuels, un nouvel angle d’approche de la question. Elles s’adressent d’abord au public directement concerné, c’est-à-dire les femmes enceintes ou nouvellement mères et leur famille, ainsi que le personnel médical qui les côtoie. Ce projet tisse des liens interdisciplinaires entre l’univers des arts visuels et celui de la médecine, nous invitant à reconsidérer l’apport de chacun aux réflexions liées à la maternité.

Birth Labyrinth II (postpartum) (détail), 2018, broderie sur robe d'hôpital et acrylique sur bois

Ces œuvres sont inspirées de l’expérience personnelle de Robichaud, ce qui est typique de sa pratique. Enracinées dans l’autobiographie, elles posent un regard analytique sur la réalité parfois angoissante de la maternité ainsi que sur les approches diverses de son traitement médical. Les deux composantes du diptyque témoignent respectivement des recherches approfondies réalisées par l’artiste sur les périodes prénatale (CFMNB) et postpartum (clinique d’obstétrique).

Birth Labyrinth II (prénatal) (détail), 2018, broderie sur robe d'hôpital et acrylique sur bois

Elles incorporent des objets et des images propres à l’univers médical moderne, juxtaposés à des symboles issus des pratiques traditionnelles (sages-femmes, doulas, etc.). Se retrouve ainsi, au centre de chacune des œuvres, une robe d’hôpital brodée d’un « labyrinthe de naissance », figure analogique d’une stratégie méditative qui peut accompagner la grossesse, l’accouchement et l’accueil du bébé. Les éléments entourant la robe évoquent différentes étapes de la maternité, illustrant la thématique de chacune des œuvres.

Ce projet tisse des liens interdisciplinaires entre l’univers des arts visuels et celui de la médecine, nous invitant à reconsidérer l’apport de chacun aux réflexions liées à la maternité.

Dominik Robichaud

Artiste peintre avant tout, Dominik Robichaud explore les notions d’autoreprésentation par le biais de recherches matérielles qui amalgament la peinture à d’autres médiums tels que le collage, le dessin, la céramique et l’installation. Robichaud se livre à une réflexion sur la mémoire et sa transmission en élaborant un univers qui lui est intime. Elle souligne les tensions et les parallèles entre dichotomies : le bien-être et l’angoisse, le silence et la turbulence, le masculin et le féminin. Le thème de la maternité, un fil conducteur de sa pratique artistique des dernières années, est traité selon une perspective résolument autobiographique.

Dominik Robichaud est diplômée du Département des arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton (2008). Elle a présenté plusieurs expositions solos, notamment Langage corporel (Galerie d’art Beaverbrook, 2013), Des abeilles et des oiseaux (Centre culturel Aberdeen, 2015) et Relief (Centre des arts et de la culture de Dieppe, 2017). Elle entretient également une pratique d’art-thérapie.