Jean-Denis Boudreau

The Work : Public Art School
The Subject : Claude Roussel and Public Art

Claude Roussel and Public Art

Claude Roussel founded the Visual Arts Department at the Université de Moncton in 1963 and the university’s art gallery in 1965. In addition, he created a permanent collection of modern art. This collection promoted the emergence of artistic modernity in the region by representing the Canadian avant-gardes of the day and by bringing together artwork by Acadian artists. These three contributions laid an important foundation for the growth of the visual arts in French-speaking New Brunswick, and their effects continue to be seen in the commitment of the arts community.

Claude Roussel’s artistic contribution also extends to his numerous public artworks in different spheres: religious art, commemorative monuments, and contemporary art. In Moncton his works have dotted the urban landscape for many years. These include Hommes d’action (1963) and Éros Corten (1971) on the university’s campus, as well as Monument Moncton 100 (1990) in the Tidal Bore Park and Transition 2000 (1999) on the façade of the Beauséjour Caisse populaire.

Claude Roussel (in the background) with a student (around 1973). Photo : GALRC archives

Public Art School

Jean-Denis Boudreau’s Public Art School is a two-stage project. The first part is a performance. In the fall of 2018, Boudreau opened a school in the heart of downtown Moncton for a three-day period. Located in a commercial space, this simulated school was administered by a generic, and equally fictitious, organization: the Department for Cultural Advancement. A discussion forum was held there to provide the community with a platform to deliberate on issues surrounding public art. In addition to its classical schoolroom furniture, the school contained a few unusual elements: in keeping with Boudreau’s playful artistic language, a security guard was posted at the entrance to make sure the discussions went well, and a number of schoolwork exercises were laid out for participants to test their public art knowledge.

To retain a permanent trace of this ephemeral intervention in the public space, Boudreau chose a conventional form for a commemorative monument: the bronze plaque. In keeping with his covert artistic approach, five plaques were scattered around the Université de Moncton campus. They bear striking quotations from the deliberations at the Public Art School. Sober in presentation despite their unconventional content, these plates will stimulate the curiosity of the reader. Cast in permanent material, the spontaneous comments gathered during the public debate will continue to fuel the reflection on the role of the arts in the public sphere for years to come.

The artist would like to thank Claude Roussel and the participants of the Public Art School for their contributions to the project.

Jacques Arsenault, one of the participants at the Public Art School, in conversation with Jean-Denis Boudreau (2018)

Jean-Denis Boudreau

Jean-Denis Boudreau is a multidisciplinary artist who works primarily in installation and public intervention. A keen observer of the conventions that influence our behaviour in contemporary society, he focuses his attention on this behaviour to show where these conventions break down or are defective. To do this, he uses subversive strategies that employ playfulness and a hint of absurdity. Through constant experimentation, Boudreau strives to develop new modes of dissemination and interaction with the public in the hope of infiltrating everyday life, thereby making art more accessible to a greater number of people.

A finalist for the Sobey Art Award in 2007, Boudreau received his Bachelor of Visual Arts from the Université de Moncton in 2002. A native of Fredericton, his work has been exhibited at venues including the Khyber Gallery, Trap Door Gallery, Third Space Gallery, and Galerie Sans Nom. He has also taken part in events such as FICFA and the Symposium art/nature.

Jean-Denis Boudreau

l'oeuvre : École d’art public
Le sujet : Claude Roussel et l’art public

Claude Roussel et l’art public

Claude Roussel a fondé le Département des arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton en 1963 et la Galerie d’art de l’Université de Moncton en 1965. De plus, il a créé une collection permanente composée d’œuvres d’art modernes. Celle-ci a favorisé l’avènement d’une modernité artistique dans la région en répertoriant les avant-gardes canadiennes de l’époque et en rassemblant des œuvres réalisées par des artistes acadien.ne.s. Ces trois contributions ont été des jalons importants du développement des arts visuels au Nouveau-Brunswick francophone et leurs retombées continuent de se faire sentir sur l’effervescence du milieu.

L’apport artistique de Claude Roussel s’étend également à ses nombreuses réalisations d’art public touchant à plusieurs sphères : l’art religieux, le monument commémoratif et la création contemporaine. À Moncton, ses œuvres habitent le paysage urbain depuis de nombreuses années. Notons par exemple Hommes d’action (1963) et Éros Corten (1971) sur le campus de l’Université, ainsi que le Monument Moncton 100 (1990) dans le parc du Mascaret et Transition 2000 (1999) sur la façade de la Caisse populaire Beauséjour.

Claude Roussel (à l’arrière-plan) avec un étudiant (vers 1973). Photo : Centre de documentation de la GALRC

École d’art public

Le projet École d’art public de Jean-Denis Boudreau s’est articulé en deux moments, la première étape de l’œuvre étant performative. Au cours de l’automne 2018, l’artiste a ouvert une école en plein centre-ville de Moncton pour une durée de trois jours. Située dans un local commercial, cette école simulée était administrée par un organisme générique tout aussi fictif : le Département pour l’avancement culturel. Un forum de discussion y était tenu pour offrir à la communauté une tribune de délibération sur les enjeux liés à l’art public. Outre son mobilier scolaire classique, l’école renfermait quelques éléments insolites : propre au langage ludique de Boudreau, un gardien de sécurité était posté à l’entrée pour veiller au bon déroulement des discussions et une sélection d'exercices scolaires étaient distribués pour que les participant.e.s puissent évaluer leurs connaissances en art public.

Pour maintenir des traces permanentes de cette intervention éphémère sur la place publique, Boudreau s’est approprié une forme conventionnelle du monument commémoratif : la plaque de bronze. Conformément à sa démarche artistique furtive, les cinq plaques de l’artiste sont disséminées sur le campus de l’Université de Moncton. Elles présentent des citations marquantes récoltées lors des délibérations à l’École d’art public. Sobres dans leur présentation malgré leur contenu décalé, ces plaques sauront provoquer l’étonnement chez quiconque s’arrête pour les lire. Figés dans la matière permanente, les commentaires spontanés formulés lors du débat public ne pourront être oubliés de sitôt et continueront de nourrir la réflexion sur le rôle des arts dans la sphère publique dans les années à venir.

L’artiste tient à remercier Claude Roussel et les participants à l’École d’art public pour leurs contributions au projet.

Jacques Arsenault, un des participants à l’École d’art public, en discussion avec Jean-Denis Boudreau (2018)

Jean-Denis Boudreau

Jean-Denis Boudreau est un artiste pluridisciplinaire qui se consacre principalement à l’art de l’installation et de l’intervention dans la sphère publique. Fin observateur des conventions qui influent sur nos comportements dans la société contemporaine, il y focalise son attention afin d’en proposer des ruptures ou des décalages. Pour ce faire, il emploie des stratégies subversives, passant par l’espièglerie et un soupçon d’absurdité. Au gré de tentatives expérimentales constamment renouvelées, Boudreau s’applique à élaborer de nouveaux modes de diffusion et d’interaction avec le public en espérant infiltrer le quotidien et ainsi rendre l’art plus accessible au plus grand nombre.

Finaliste pour le Prix Sobey en 2007, Boudreau détient un baccalauréat en arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton (2002). L’artiste natif de Fredericton a notamment exposé son travail à la Khyber Gallery, à la Trap Door Gallery, à la Third Space Gallery et à la Galerie Sans Nom. Il a par ailleurs participé à des événements tels que le FICFA et le Symposium d’art/nature.