Marika Drolet-Ferguson

The Work : Fogo
The Subject : Claude Gauvin

Claude Gauvin

“It is easier to imitate masculine art than to live out one’s authenticity as a woman. That becomes repression.”
- Claude Gauvin (1983)

Following studies at the École des Beaux-arts de Montréal from 1957 to 1961, Claude Gauvin led a nomadic life in several European countries and the United States before returning to Acadie. Upon her return, she taught painting and drawing in the Visual Arts Department at the Université de Moncton from 1978 to 2004. Her realistic painting style was not something explored in Acadie and echoed more the work being done by English-speaking artists. The strength of this determined artist was expressed in her works through their calmness, solitude, and intimate quality, and in her teaching through her rigour and critical thinking.

Claude Gauvin in front of some of her works (1989). Photo : GALRC archives

As an instructor she was devoted to her students’ learning and was motivated by their potential. She was also the first woman to chair the Visual Arts Department at the Université de Moncton, a position to which she was named in 1989. She was one of the first women to serve as a model for artists in Acadie and certainly had a decisive influence on many of them.

Fogo

Marika Drolet-Ferguson's work is based on a series of photographs taken on Fogo Island, Newfoundland, in 2015. This series, previously unresolved in the artist's mind, resurfaces in the project Images rémanentes and now finds its meaning by internalizing the artistic approach of Claude Gauvin. In a cyclical manner, on the one hand because the two artists are of different generations and on the other because of the space that is created between the withdrawal and the return that are possible in a drawn-out temporality, Drolet-Ferguson’s series is moulded and rounded out by Gauvin’s work. This memory-work takes on meaning through continuity and through the reflection prompted by the introspection, intimacy, and tranquility present in each artist’s nature and their work.

Fogo, 2018, chromogenic prints on Dibond aluminum

In the three images, the horizon has been left out to provide a new perception of the texture of the rocky formations, a new conception of our own reality. Drolet-Ferguson’s piece triggers an awareness of the passing on of knowledge, thereby referencing the many years during which Claude Gauvin taught. In this way the artist is assured to live on through her artistic legacy.

Fogo, 2018, chromogenic prints on Dibond aluminum

Perception and the questioning of reality are omnipresent in Gauvin’s work and carried over into Drolet-Ferguson’s project. Added to this is a critique of the objectification of both the female body and nature, which often generates compartmentalized interpretations. Thus, this objectification prevents the conception of the entire subject as a balanced whole. In this respect, the Fogo series attempts to re-establish a more sensitive vision of the landscape.

The artist would like to thank Lucille, Marie-Anne, Lima and Jacqueline for their contributions to the project.

Perception and the questioning of reality are omnipresent in Gauvin’s work and carried over into Drolet-Ferguson’s project.

Marika Drolet-Ferguson

Marika Drolet-Ferguson works primarily in photography and, alongside her artistic activities in the visual arts, maintains an architectural practice. She is interested in the relations between nature and the imagination, as well as the connection that exists between the quality of our environment and the extent of our creative thinking. For her, photography is an observational practice. It is through this medium that she explores how the landscapes around us also occupy us. The slowness of the silver gelatin photographic process gives her the freedom to discover what is hidden beneath the surface of things. By cultivating a sensitive and attentive gaze, her artistic enquiries seek to convey a feeling of belonging to the land and the experience of being connected to the elements.

Born in the Acadian Peninsula, Marika Drolet-Ferguson studied visual art at the Université de Moncton before completing studies in architecture at Université Laval and the University of Genoa in Italy. In 2017, as part of the project Lost Stories/Histoires perdues at Concordia University, she created a major work of public art in Tracadie, New Brunswick.

Marika Drolet-Ferguson

l'oeuvre : Fogo
Le sujet : Claude Gauvin

Claude Gauvin

« Il est plus facile d’imiter l’art masculin que de vivre son authenticité de femme. Ce qui devient répression. »
- Claude Gauvin (1983)

Après des études à l’École des Beaux-arts de Montréal de 1957 à 1961, Claude Gauvin a mené une vie nomade dans quelques pays d’Europe et les États-Unis avant de revenir en Acadie. À son retour, elle a enseigné la peinture et le dessin au Département des arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton de 1978 à 2004. Le style réaliste de sa peinture était peu exploré en Acadie et trouvait davantage écho dans les productions du côté anglo-saxon. La force de cette artiste déterminée s’exprimait dans ses œuvres par le calme, la solitude et le caractère intime qui s’en dégageaient et, dans son enseignement, par la rigueur et la pensée critique.

Claude Gauvin devant quelques-unes de ses œuvres (1989). Photo : Centre de documentation de la Galerie d’art Louise-et-Reuben-Cohen

Pédagogue, elle s’est dévouée à l’apprentissage de ses étudiant.e.s et était motivée par leur potentiel. Elle a également été la première femme à la direction du Département des arts visuels de l’Université de Moncton, nommée en 1989. Elle est parmi les premiers modèles féminins pour les artistes en Acadie et a certainement été une figure marquante pour plusieurs.

Fogo

L’œuvre de Marika Drolet-Ferguson puise dans une série de photographies prises à l’île Fogo, à Terre-Neuve, en 2015. Cette série, jusqu’alors non résolue dans l’esprit de l’artiste, refait surface dans le cadre du projet Images rémanentes et trouve désormais son sens en intériorisant la démarche artistique de Claude Gauvin. De façon cyclique, d’une part par les générations qui séparent les deux artistes, d’autre part par l’espace créé entre le recul et le retour qui est permis dans une temporalité étirée, la série de Drolet-Ferguson est informée et complétée par le travail de Gauvin. L’œuvre-mémoire prend son sens dans la continuité et dans la réflexion que suscitent l’introspection, l’intimité et la tranquillité présentes dans la nature ainsi que dans les œuvres de chacune.

Fogo, 2018, épreuves à développement chromogène montées sur aluminium Dibond

Dans les trois images, la ligne d’horizon est exclue de façon à offrir une nouvelle perception de la texture des formations rocheuses, une nouvelle conception de notre propre réalité. L’œuvre de Drolet-Ferguson incite à une prise de conscience en ce qui concerne la transmission des savoirs, faisant ainsi référence aux longues années d’enseignement de l’artiste Claude Gauvin qui, assurément, se perpétue à travers son legs artistique.

Fogo, 2018, épreuves à développement chromogène montées sur aluminium Dibond

Les notions de perception et de remise en question de la réalité sont omniprésentes dans le travail de Gauvin et transmises au projet de Drolet-Ferguson. À cela s’ajoute une critique de l’objectification tant du corps féminin que de la nature, qui en engendre fréquemment une interprétation compartimentée. Ainsi, cette objectification empêche de concevoir l’ensemble du sujet comme un tout équilibré. À cet égard, la série Fogo tente de rétablir une vision plus sensible du paysage.

L’artiste tient à remercier Lucille, Marie-Anne, Lima et Jacqueline pour leurs contributions au projet.

Les notions de perception et de remise en question de la réalité sont omniprésentes dans le travail de Gauvin et transmises au projet de Drolet-Ferguson.

Marika Drolet-Ferguson

Marika Drolet-Ferguson travaille principalement en photographie et poursuit ses recherches en arts visuels parallèlement à sa pratique en architecture. Elle s’intéresse aux liens entre la nature et l’imagination, ainsi qu’à la relation qui existe entre la qualité de notre environnement et l’étendue de notre pensée créative. La photographie est pour elle une pratique de l’observation. C’est par ce médium qu’elle explore comment les paysages qui nous entourent sont aussi ceux qui nous habitent. La lenteur du procédé argentique lui offre la liberté de découvrir ce qui se cache sous la surface des choses. En cultivant un regard sensible et attentif, ses recherches visent à transmettre un sentiment d’appartenance au territoire et une expérience de connexion avec les éléments.

Originaire de la Péninsule acadienne, Marika Drolet-Ferguson a étudié les arts visuels à l’Université de Moncton avant de compléter des études en architecture à l’Université Laval et à l’Université de Gênes (Italie). En 2017, elle réalise dans le cadre du projet Lost Stories / Histoires retrouvées (Université Concordia) une œuvre d’art public majeure, installée à Tracadie (N.-B.).